Wednesday, 10 February 2010



With influences ranging from Wayne Shorter to Radiohead, Deerhoof to J Dilla, The Worst Pop Band Ever is a Toronto based group that tries to combine a love of improvisational jazz music and “indie pop”. Individually, the WPBE has worked with the who's who of Canadian and international musicians (see personnel), but together, whether it be blending acoustic bass with turntables or analog synths with the saxophone, the WPBE sets out to twist and bend both originals and covers, straddling genres and butting heads with expectation.
They have played festivals and clubs throughout North America including the TD Canada Trust Toronto Jazz Festival, the Ottawa Jazz Festival, IAJE, NXNE, as well as clubs like the Rex in Toronto, Schuba's in Chicago and the Beat Niq in Calgary.
They have shared stages/ toured with the Bad Plus, Happy Apple, Jeff Parker of Tortoise, Shannon Butcher, Rich Brown, Rich Underhill, Erik Hove, Elizabeth Shepherd, Seamus Blake and Kelly Jefferson.
Most recently the band finished a mini tour of the west where they played to packed houses promoting their latest CD, "Dost Thou Believeth in Science". The album has received national and international rotation and even reached # 1 on the Toronto College Radio Charts and has received numerous glowing reviews including from All About Jazz.

Their music has also been used for film and video, including work for the United Nations, Disney, Teletoon, CBC and the National Film Board. They played on the soundtrack for the multiple award-winning animated short, "Flutter." (NFB/PPF Multimedia Production) and most recently provided music for the NFB's tribute to Governor General Award Recipient, dancer, Peggy Baker.

Drew Birston - bass
(Amanda Martinez, Sarah Slean, Sultans of String, Chantal Kreviazuk, Lori Cullen, Justin Hines)
Chris Gale - saxes
(Shuffle Demons, Brandi Disterheft. Rich Underhill, Tyler Yarema, Ron Sexsmith, Blue Rodeo, Dione Taylor)
Leo37 - turntables
(Soliva, Magnolius, Abyss)
Tim Shia - drums
(Rich Underhill, Amanda Martinez, Suzie McNeil, Laila Biali, Milosh, Rhonda Stakich)
Dafydd Hughes - keys and electronics
(Feist, Esthero, Julie Crochetiere, Jacksoul, James McCollum)
Adrean Farrugia - Keys (Matt Dusk, Jefferson/Grant Quintet, Curtis Fuller, Reg Schwager, Brad Goode)


1) Thanks for Coming Out - 2006
- Giant Things by the Side of the Road
- Army of me (Bjork)

2)PPF House Bassment Suite (Sampler) - 2007
- Chroe or Gloe
- Those Crazy Hens
3) Dost Thou Believeth in Science - 2009
-Elizabeth Shepherd, Rhonda Stakich and Rob Ritchie

4) PPF Neighbourhood - Benefit for Haiti
- featuring Elizabeth Shepherd, Amanda Martinez, Brian MacMillan, Vangel and Milosh

our merchants sites are:



No comments:

Post a Comment